Back to home page

DOS ain't dead

Forum index page

Back to the board
Thread view  Mix view  Order
bocke(R)

13.07.2013, 22:41

Some *nix-like text games (Users)

I was searching for something for Linux and found this topic on Dosbox "VOGONS" forum:

Attach your DOSBox-compatible *NIX ports in this thread

The post contains several DJGPP ports of *nix curses/console games. For example, ESR's *nix version of the famous "Wumpus". :)

Rugxulo(R)

Homepage

Usono,
15.07.2013, 19:18

@ bocke

Some *nix-like text games

Honestly, this list of ports wasn't that comprehensive. (Perhaps pointing to external sites like Rogueforge implied more?) Not that I'm an expert, by far, or even fully remember all the different ports of roguelikes (et al.), but anyways ....

UMoria (16-bit builds or 32-bit DJGPP)
Rogue Clone (16-bit OpenWatcom binary or, via source, 32-bit DJGPP)
Dungeon Crawl 4.0.0.b26 (32-bit DJGPP; DC started on DJGPP in 1997!)

There are a fair few others, e.g. various (usually older versions of) Angband, Stone Soup, Nethack, SLASH 'EM, Larn, Omega, IVAN, Kroz, TOME, etc. I can't even pretend to remember nor have played them all.

FYI, most of these are written in C, no surprise, but a few were ported to FreePascal (IIRC, original Moria [VAX Pascal] and its offshoot, BOSS). There was also an improved port of Moria to FreeBASIC, but I don't know what happened to it (site is gone).

N.B. These aren't necessarily all "free software", so caveat emptor. Some have been relicensed after-the-fact (Moria and Stone Soup, IIRC), but some are still only for non-commercial use or similar. ADOM got an update fairly recently (dunno what changed), but it's still closed source.

bocke(R)

17.07.2013, 16:40

@ Rugxulo

Thanx for the additional info. Do you have any additional links by the chance? :)

> Honestly, this list of ports wasn't that comprehensive.