Back to home page

DOS ain't dead

Forum index page

Back to the forum
Board view  Mix view

random linguistic, cultural, and religious trivia (Announce)

posted by Rugxulo(R) Homepage, Usono, 05.10.2018, 05:54

> I think radio is more often passive than TV.

Both radio and tv can be quite painful re: advertisements. So YouTube is tons more pleasant (for now!). I think a lot of big tv companies have paid their way into YouTube (begrudgingly, resentfully) in recent years. I do think that some influential people want more power, control, money, and resent YouTube and its creators for success they have outside of them.

> > (The main dude on OSNews website is Dutch, and he's in love with AAVE
>
> I'm no expert on American slang, but I find that hard to believe it is that
> uniform.

I don't fully know. Maybe I'm naive, but I assumed everyone locally talks (roughly) the same, plus some slang. Maybe some speak differently to others? I don't. (I do live in a big city, but I'm not gregarious.) Whatever, it's not worth even accidentally going near psychological b.s., so I'll avoid that. (I don't know what "code switching" is and don't care.)

My whole point of mentioning Thom wasn't to denigrate anyone or make generalizations about the Dutch. But he was too sensitive to one other guy's snide comments, taking offense to something that was weak at best. I just thought him odd for treating it like a separate, protected species rather than accidental slang (not universal). Whatever, he overreacted, IMO.

Some divisions are imaginary (or trivial), and it's not worth dividing people up (splitting hairs).

> Quite some Syrian refugees lately, as well as Ethiopian Christians, I live
> in a city center, and quite some minor churches now serve such foreign
> congregations.